top of page
  • ChatterBuffalo

Allen, Mahomes, Brady, and Rodgers; The Greatest Championship Sunday Ever


By: Buffalo Sports Chatter Logan -Twitter; @logan_blackman

Todd Collins, Rob Johnson, Doug Flutie, Drew Bledsoe, JP Losman, Kelly Holcomb, Trent Edwards, Ryan Fitzpatrick, EJ Manuel, Kyle Orton, Thad Lewis, Jeff Tuel, Matt Cassel, Tyrod Taylor, Nathan the MVPeterman, and Josh f*ckn Allen. Those are the quarterbacks of the Buffalo Bills since I came into this world in November of 1997. (apologies if I missed someone, I was doing this off memory)


Throughout my life, I have known nothing but futility and pain on and off the football field. From bad quarterbacks to bad coaches, to say the Bills have been bad since Jim Kelly had retired would be an understatement.


For the first time in my life, the Bills hosted a Playoff game. For the first time in my life, the Bills won a Playoff game. For the first time in my life, the Bills are in the AFC Championship. For the first time in my life, we, as Bills fans, have a quarterback.


Josh Allen is to me and my generation what Jim Kelly was to my dad’s generation. A seemingly all powerful being that gives fans hope. Before Jim, the Bills were an average at best team. Before Josh, saying the Bills were just below average would be considered a compliment.



I like to think every Bills fan has been loyal to Josh throughout his time in the league, but we know that that’s not the case, as every fan has their own opinions on the starting quarterback position.


For a lot of Bills fans, this is the greatest moment of their lives. As NFL fans, we could be treated to the most stacked quarterback roster in NFL Championship Sunday history.


This Sunday, we will be treated to three MVP candidates and the G.O.A.T. Have we ever had a Championship Sunday where every team has a top 10 quarterback in the league? Let alone the top three guys in Aaron Rodgers, Josh Allen, and Patrick Mahomes? Not that I can remember.


Though we love Josh Allen, I think most of us understand that Aaron Rodgers will be named league MVP for the third time in his career. This Sunday, could be considered a “legacy game” for Aaron Rodgers, as he takes on Tom Brady.


What will the masses think of Aaron Rodgers if he ends his career with only one Super Bowl while losing his first NFC Championship game at Lambeau Field against a 43-year old Tom Brady?


I do think one thing we can all agree on is the fact that Rodgers is one of the, if not the, most talented quarterbacks we have ever laid our eyes on. That being said, there’s a difference between talent and greatness.

Like, one could argue Sam Darnold is more talented than Baker Mayfield, but who is the better quarterback at this point and time? Does that make sense? Maybe not, but it can sometimes be difficult to explain.


If Aaron Rodgers loses to Brady, where will Rodgers rank on the all time list? I guess we’ll have to wait and see.

I would like to add this, I am not saying Rodgers isn’t great, there’s no denying that. All I’m trying to say is where will he rank when his career is done? Super Bowls mean more to some peoples rankings than others.

Rodgers vs Brady is a match-up all of us as neutral fans have been waiting for. Two of the greats of their era playing in a game that matters. This one matters quite a bit, as it’s to get to the big one down in Tampa.

As for the AFC side, Josh and the Bills will be taking on the Chiefs and Patrick Mahomes. What needs to be said about Patrick Mahomes that already hasn’t? Dude won an MVP in his second season while throwing 50 touchdowns while winning a Super Bowl in his third season. Pretty crazy stuff right there.


Now, I’m aware that I’ll sound like a giant homer here, but is there anything Mahomes can do that Josh Allen can’t?


Everyone always says that Josh does these, “Mahomes like things,” well what if he actually does it better than Mahomes. I don’t know, something to think about I guess.


I guess the easy thing to say is “what would Mahomes do with Kelvin Benjamin, Zay Jones, Robert Foster as a number one wide receiver, and no o-line?” Too bad we’ll never know.


The craziest thing about Josh and Patrick is the fact the Bills traded the pick to Kansas City that was used to get Mahomes.


The fact that the Bills essentially gave the Chiefs a super star quarterback would make most fans tear up, but the fact McDermott got an All Pro corner in Tre’ White, a Pro Bowl linebacker in Trumaine Edmonds, and a second team All Pro and MVP candidate in Josh Allen, I think the Bills feel good about what they got in exchange.


The combined ages of the NFC quarterbacks in the Divisional Round was just over 36, as the AFC’s was around 24 years old. That’s crazy to me.


This Championship Sunday is set up to be one of the most legendary weekends ever. As I said above, when has a quarterback roster been this stacked before? Please tell me if you can name one.


Allen, Mahomes, Brady, and Rodgers. Three MVP candidates and the G.O.A.T., this Sunday is going to be fun.


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

#11

bottom of page